RSS Feed

Candied Pecans (Crock-Pot)

Posted on

Did you know that the world’s largest pecan is in Brunswick, Missouri??? Until I moved to Missouri I always thought of the South when I pictured pecan groves but it turns out there are quite a few in the Show-Me State. See, we all learned something today!

One of my parishioners gave me a bag of these locally grown treasures for Christmas and I knew just what I was going to do with them.  Not only do candied pecans taste delicious, your house will smell like Santa’s Christmas Village (without the reindeer stable). Did I mention I have a toddler? We have imaginary lands on the brain… And we’re back on topic.

I like a lot of flavor so I’m pretty heavy-handed with the cinnamon and nutmeg. You could live a little and throw any spice in the pot. Also, excessive stirring tore my Crock-Pot liners (side note: Reynolds Slow Cooker Liners are the greatest things EVER) so unless you want to scrub burnt sugar from your Crock-Pot, be gentle.

IMG_1633

Candied Pecans (Crock-Pot)

  • 1 ¼ c. white sugar
  • 1 ¼ c. brown sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • 1 egg white
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 3 cups pecans
  • ¼ c. water

Prepare your crock-pot by spraying it with cooking spray or using a crock-pot liner. 

In a bowl, mix together sugars, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt.

In another bowl, whisk the egg white and vanilla until it is frothy. Coat pecans with the mixture. Toss pecans with the sugar mixture until well coated. Cook on low, 3-4 hours. Stir every 20 minutes. During the last hour of cooking add water and stir well.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and spread the pecans on the baking sheet to cool.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

Leave a Reply

