RSS Feed

Chocolate Mint Pie

Posted on

When I was growing up the chef at the local country club was a dessert genius! He had a million incredible recipes but one that really stood out was something he called, Tipton Pie. When I started baking I spent an inordinate amount of time trying to find this recipe but never did. However, this one is very close. If you like this recipe save it! I dug it out of an old Baker’s recipe book and you can’t find that little booger anywhere to save your life… trust me, I’ve tried.

This recipe is incredibly simple and no-bake (a nice perk considering it is 103 degrees today). If raw eggs make you nervous just get the pasteurized ones at the grocery store. Also, if you are hardcore you could make this with real whipped cream but I don’t recommend it. Strangely, Cool Whip is your best bet as it sets up better than real whipped cream. Can you believe that I am saying that?! But it is true.

Chocolate Mint Pie

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3 ounces unsweetened chocolate, melted and cooled
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon peppermint extract
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup thawed Cool Whip
  • 1 baked 9-inch pie shell (I use a graham cracker crust)

Cream butter, gradually beat in sugar and continue beating until light and fluffy. Add melted chocolate, vanilla and peppermint extract. Add eggs one at a time, beating about 1 minute after each. Fold the Cool Whip into the chocolate mixture and spoon into pie shell. Chill at least 4 hours.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

5 responses »

  1. That looks amazing. Would love it if you take a moment to link it to Piquant Potluck @ Quickasianrecipes.com 🙂

    Reply
  2. If you wish to be fancy, dollop Cool Whip around top edge and sprinkle with crushed peppermint. (Any candy canes left over from Christmas?) Meg made this for my birthday and I hope it becomes a tradition!

    Reply
  3. I have the Tipton Pie recipe…are you from Keokuk?

    Reply
    • Yes, I am originally from Keokuk. I would love the recipe if you would share!

      Reply
      • I’m from Keokuk, too, and someone gave my Grandmother the recipe but she was sworn to secrecy and told to never give it out. If someone asked for the recipe, she’d make them a pie instead. Email me your email address and I’ll send it back (kristinesue@gmail.com)

Leave a Reply

