RSS Feed

Cole Slaw

Posted on

As you know, it has been pretty warm here in Iowa so my oven is getting a little break from its usual workout. The grill on the other hand… well it is making up for a long winter hibernation. With all these steaks, burgers and other great grill treats you need some veggies and sides. Enter cole slaw. I know, I know, who makes cole slaw at home? I do! And being rather picky in the field of cole slaw that is no small thing. Cole slaw, like mashed potatoes, must be just so or it isn’t even worth my time.

This recipe is “supposedly” the same recipe as KFC. It tastes similar, in fact, I would argue better. But you decide. Just a couple of things: If you are lazy like me you might just buy bagged cabbage and carrots. If you do that, it is about two bags of cole slaw “mix” for this recipe. Also, this recipe gets better with time so keep that in mind when planning when to serve it.

Cole Slaw

  • 1/2 cup mayo
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons white vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 8 cups finely grated cabbage (about 1 head)
  • 1/4 cup shredded carrots (about 1 carrot)

Combine chopped cabbage and carrots in large bowl. Mix together mayo, sugar, milk, buttermilk, lemon juice, vinegar, salt, and pepper. Pour over cabbage and carrots. Toss until coated. Cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

One response »

  1. Both husband and I like this one, so a good salad to just keep in the fridge.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

