RSS Feed

Blueberry Breakfast Cake

Posted on

Cake for breakfast? I’m there.  I’ve had this recipe to try for quite awhile but I just never got around to making it. I do breakfast for dinner pretty often for two primary reasons: a) I love breakfast foods and b) I don’t get up early enough to make it all that often. Answer: breakfast for dinner.

I always keep buttermilk around but if you don’t you can make your own by souring milk. For instance, if you need 1 cup of buttermilk stir 1 tablespoon of white vinegar or lemon juice into 1 cup of milk and let stand for 5 minutes until it thickens. Also, I raided my frozen blueberries earlier in the week so I didn’t have a full 2 cups. I used mixed fruit instead which was delicious but you’ll have to watch baking time, etc. because fruits like strawberries and cherries have a lot more moisture than just blueberries. I liked the mixed fruits but my husband prefers just blueberries.

Buttermilk-Blueberry Breakfast Cake

  • ½ cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 2 tsp. lemon zest or more — zest from 1 large lemon
  • 3/4 cup + 2 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 egg, room temperature
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 cups fresh blueberries and flour for dusting00
  • ½ cup buttermilk

Preheat the oven to 350ºF. Cream butter with lemon zest and the sugar until light and fluffy. Add the egg and vanilla and beat until combined. Meanwhile, toss the blueberries with some flour, then whisk together the 2 cups of flour, baking powder and salt.

Add the flour mixture to the batter a little at a time, alternating with the buttermilk. Fold in the blueberries. Grease a 9-inch square baking pan (or something similar) with butter or coat with non-stick spray. Spread batter into pan. Bake for 35 minutes. Check with a toothpick for doneness. If necessary, return pan to oven for a couple of more minutes. (Note: Baking for as long as 10 minutes more might be necessary.) Let cool at least 15 minutes before serving.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

Leave a Reply

