RSS Feed

No-Bake Cookies

Posted on

It has been unseasonably warm around here and I’m not one to heat up the house. So the oven has been largely quiet. That does not mean, however, that I have been going without. I’m pretty good at finding ways around whatever inconvenience may present itself. Especially when the end result is chocolate.

I made no-bake cookies quite a bit as a kid but (like Twinkies and Fritos) I forget how good they are. Then when meandering around the grocery store I saw them in the bakery. $4 for a dozen of these little boogers!! Are you kidding me?! I had some “natural” peanut butter that my husband accidentally bought at Costco and I finally had a way to dispose of the stuff.

I used around 4 cups of oats because the natural peanut butter is thinner than the usual stuff. I recommend starting on the low end and then seeing what you need. Another warning, these babies are addictive and they were a regular go-to during middle of the night baby feedings (until they disappeared). She isn’t the only one who gets hungry!

No Bake Cookies

  • 1/2 C Butter
  • 2 C Sugar
  • 1/2 C Milk
  • 4 Tbsp Cocoa
  • 1/2 C Peanut Butter
  • 3- 4 C Quick cooking Oats
  • 2 tsp. Vanilla

Add the first 4 ingredients in a saucepan. Bring to a boil. Boil for 1 minute. Stir in the next 3 ingredients and drop onto parchment or foil lined cookie sheets. Let cool until set.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

One response »

  1. These are my absolute favorite cookies!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

