RSS Feed

Banana Strawberry Muffins

Posted on

How do you make bananas even better? You add strawberries. I’m a big fan of the flavor combination of banana and strawberry so how I never thought to combine them in banana muffins I really can’t say. Luckily, someone else had the idea and I swiped it.

Fresh strawberries are going to be here soon but at this point in the season they aren’t good enough nor cheap enough for me to work with. Just thaw some frozen ones and go with that. I always keep frozen fruit around. It is great for the sudden smoothie craving and baking. Plus, frozen fruits and veggies are packaged when the produce is at its freshest so only in-season produce can compete. Oh, and definitely put the strawberry garnish on top of your muffins. Not only does it look cute but it adds quite a bit of flavor. I made them both ways and the ones with a topping are definitely better.

Banana Strawberry Muffins

  • 6 oz (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk
  • 1 1/4 cups mashed banana (2-3 medium bananas)
  • 1/2 cup small diced strawberries, plus 2-3 more for topping

Place a rack in the center of the oven and preheat to 350 degrees F. Prepare a muffin tin (I got 18 muffins from this recipe).

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. In a medium bowl, whisk together eggs, vanilla, and  buttermilk.  Whisk in the mashed bananas.  Whisk in the butter.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients.  Stir, scraping the bottom of the bowl to incorporate any hidden pockets of flour.  Fold in the diced strawberries, being careful not to over stir.

Spoon batter into prepared pan and top with thinly sliced strawberries.   Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a skewer inserted into the center of the loaf comes out clean.  Remove from the oven and allow to rest in the pan for 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

Leave a Reply

