RSS Feed

Black & White Cheesecake Squares

Posted on

I don’t think that it is any great secret that I am a bit of a chocolate addict. Also, I spend a lot of my time perusing Pinterest. There is a little something I have noticed about Pinterest: the theory seems to be circulating the Internet that EVERYTHING is better with cream cheese. Frankly, I don’t disagree. That is why when I came across this little gem from Martha Stewart I was in the kitchen trying it out in no time.

Just a couple of little things. Chill these before you eat them. Much like a cheesecake these are better cold. I took a little nibble while they were only room temperature and I was none too impressed. A few hours in the fridge and they were delicious. Also, a whole cup of dough to crumble is a lot. I just nibbled on it while I was crumbling. What?! Waste not, want not.

 Black and White Cheesecake Squares

  •             2 cups plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  •             3/4 cup unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder
  •             1 teaspoon baking soda
  •             1/2 teaspoon salt
  •             10 ounces (2 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  •             2 cups granulated sugar
  •             3 large eggs
  •             2 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  •             8 ounces cream cheese, softened
  •             1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line a 9-by-13-inch baking dish with aluminum foil, leaving a 2-inch overhang on both long sides, then spray foil.

Combine flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt into a large bowl. Cream butter and granulated sugar with a mixer until smooth. Add 2 eggs and 2 teaspoons vanilla, and beat until smooth, scraping down sides of bowl. Reduce speed to low; add flour mixture. Increase speed to medium; beat until incorporated.

Reserve 1 cup of dough; cover, and refrigerate. Press remaining dough into bottom of prepared dish. Refrigerate for 30 minutes. Bake until base is set and edges are puffed, about 25 minutes. Let cool in dish on a wire rack.

Mix cream cheese, confectioners’ sugar, and remaining egg and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla in a medium bowl. Spread over cooled base; crumble reserved dough on top. Bake until filling is set, 25 to 30 minutes. Let cool in dish on wire rack, then lift out using overhang. Cut into squares.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

Leave a Reply

