RSS Feed

Chocolate Cupcakes

Posted on

It’s my birthday! Let’s not go into details about years, grey hairs, or anything else. Suffice it to say, my husband and I are the same age for a few months. Every year I spend copious amounts of time perusing recipes and deciding what cake to make myself this year. Yes, I make my own cake. No, I don’t consider that narcissistic at all.

My cake (or this year, cakes) is always chocolate and this year is no different. In fact, these little cakes are especially deep and dark in the chocolate department. If you haven’t noticed, I really prefer glazes on cupcakes. I have a couple of reasons for that: a) the flavor is better and more intense (icing is for pansies) and b) it is sooooo much easier and it looks nice (I’m lazy). Note: This recipe makes a lot of cupcakes, share them with friends or break out large cupcake tins.

Chocolate Cupcakes

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups (3 sticks) unsalted butter, cut into pieces
  • 1 cup freshly brewed coffee (I used espresso- don’t judge it is MY cake)
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 1/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon fine salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 3 large eggs, room temperature
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Prepare muffin tins (I got 36 cupcakes from this recipe).

Put the butter, coffee, water, and cocoa in a microwave-safe bowl and microwave on HIGH until the butter melts, about 2 minutes. Whisk to combine.

Meanwhile, whisk the flour, granulated sugar, baking powder, salt, and baking soda in a large bowl. Beat the sour cream with the egg and vanilla in a small bowl. Whisk the hot cocoa mixture into the dry ingredients. Stir in the sour cream mixture just to combine; don’t overmix. Divide the batter evenly between the prepared muffin tins, filling each one about 3/4 of the way full. Bake cupcakes until a toothpick inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean, about 20 minutes.

Cool the cupcakes completely in the tin on a rack. Remove from liners and return cakes to a rack.

Chocolate Glaze

  • 6 ounces  chocolate, finely chopped (I used milk chocolate chips)
  • 1/2 cup whipping cream
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons corn syrup

Put chocolate in a medium bowl. Bring cream and corn syrup to a boil (or just microwave 1 minute), then pour it over the chocolate. Let the mixture stand for about 10 minutes, then stir until smooth. Spread 1 tablespoon warm glaze evenly over each cake, or dip cupcakes tops into glaze.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

One response »

  1. Mmm… sounds wonderful, especially the espresso!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

