RSS Feed

Candied Nuts

Posted on

Every Christmas I candy nuts. One of my parishioners would give a huge container of pecans to me for Christmas so I had a large stash to work with. Unfortunately, he passed away right before Christmas and I miss him like crazy. He was about as tough as one of those nuts and he was so much fun to visit with. The Christmas season was really busy as his funeral was the day before Christmas Eve. I never got around to making any candied pecans until just the other day. I really don’t have an excuse. They are insanely easy. I just didn’t have the heart to do it until just the other day. Strange how you mourn for people in different ways, isn’t it?

So, here’s the recipe. Like I said, they are absurdly simple and your house will smell like heaven as they bake (and for quite some time after).

Candied Nuts

  • 2 egg whites
  • 2 tbsp water
  • ½ cup white sugar
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp nutmeg
  • 4 cups nuts (I used half pecans and half walnuts)

Preheat oven to 225. In a large bowl beat the egg whites and water. Add pecans and stir to coat.

Whisk together the sugars, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg, then pour over the pecans, stirring to coat.

Spread pecans on a baking sheet lined with foil and sprayed with cooking spray and bake for one hour, stirring every 15 minutes.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

Leave a Reply

