Lemon Brownies

The season is (possibly) finally upon us for lemonade and all things outdoors. While chocolate is my one, true food love lemon is a pretty popular companion in my kitchen. And now that spring is here it is definitely a go-to flavor. I adore lemon bars but when I came across this recipe on Pinterest I was intrigued. Don’t get bogged down in the name brownie… it isn’t. But, I don’t really know what else you would call this recipe. The consistency/texture is somewhat similar to a brownie and you can’t call it a lemon bar recipe because, well, it isn’t. So we’ll stick with brownie for now.

This was my first attempt at the recipe so, in a move that is not all that normal for me, I stuck to the recipe. I’ll tweak it next time. The glaze MAKES this recipe because the base really isn’t as lemony as I would prefer. Next time, I’ll up the lemon content. Having said all that, it is definitely a recipe to keep around. It is super easy and super quick to throw together which is always a plus for a weeknight treat.

Lemon Brownies

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 10 tablespoons butter, melted & slightly cooled
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon packed lemon zest (from 1 lemon)

Preheat the oven to 350ºF. Prepare a 9×13″ baking dish. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar & salt. In a separate bowl, whisk together the melted butter, sweetened condensed milk, eggs, vanilla, lemon juice & zest until combined. Mix the butter mixture into the flour mixture until well combined.

Spread the batter into the prepared baking dish and bake for 25-35 minutes until set and just golden brown. A toothpick inserted in the center should come out mostly clean.

Let the bars cool in the pan before glazing.

For Glaze: In a small bowl, whisk together 1 cup powdered sugar, 3 tablespoons lemon juice, and 1 teaspoon packed lemon zest until smooth.

Pour over the lemon brownies and cool before serving.

Published by Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

Leave a comment