RSS Feed

Chocolate Pudding

Posted on

My name is Meg and I’m a chocoholic. To be honest with you, I’m not sure a day goes by that I don’t have chocolate in some form or another. I don’t consider it a problem and I am not interested in changing. So don’t go planning a (very) unwelcome intervention.

This recipe is a chocolate stand-by, it is fast and it is chocolatey. Two characteristics not always found in the same recipe. In fact, this chocolate pudding was ALWAYS in my fridge while I was pregnant. Take a look at the recipe, it really isn’t all that unhealthy and if you are a better person than I, you could make it a whole lot healthier. And for Heaven’s sake, don’t go make the junk in the box! That isn’t real chocolate (frankly, I’m not sure what it is) and this doesn’t take any more time. Not to mention, I can pronounce things like “sugar.” No number of advanced degrees is going to equip you to pronounce what is lurking in that junk. I may not be a health nut but I am a purist.

Chocolate Pudding

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 2 cups milk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 2 tablespoons butter

In a microwave-safe bowl, whisk together sugar, cocoa, and cornstarch. Whisk in milk.

Microwave for 3 minutes on high. Stir, and then cook at 1 minute intervals for another 2-4 minutes, or until thick. Stir in vanilla and butter. Chill.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

4 responses »

  1. This is excellent stuff! I’m also a chocoholic – to the point that there’s rarely chocolate in the house but this recipe will help sort those cravings 😀

    Reply
  2. This is a good emergency recipe when the craving hits and there’s nothing else available. I use skim milk and 1 tablespoon of butter when feeling a guilt pang. (Meg, don’t read that sentence.)

    Reply
  3. This pudding is delicious – so much better than an old recipe of my mother in law!

    Reply
  4. Just made a batch of this stuff: AMAZING!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

