RSS Feed

Lasagna- No Boil

Posted on

Does anyone remember when Garfield was on the air? I remember waking up on Saturday mornings and crawling into my parents’ bed with my sister to watch Saturday morning cartoons. We didn’t have cable and cartoon channels weren’t a thing for us. Garfield was a family favorite. You know you secretly wanted to be him. I will freely admit that I find being fat, lazy, and snarky tantalizing. Alas, it doesn’t seem to be in the cards as it is apparently a bad career move. I suppose it wouldn’t be good for my marriage either. But, like Garfield, I can take down a whole lot of lasagna.

This recipe is incredibly simple AND you don’t have to boil the noodles. I know that I shouldn’t think boiling noodles is a big deal but anything that saves a few dishes is for me. I like to swap out half the ground beef for ground pork and you could swap out the cottage cheese for ricotta if you are a purist. Just a thought. Also, if you like this recipe save it because it comes from a tattered old recipe of my mother’s and I have no idea where else it can be found.

Lasagna

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound ground beef (or half beef and half pork)
  • 1 28 ounce can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 6 ounce can tomato paste
  • 1 ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 ½  teaspoon basil leaves
  • ½ teaspoon oregano
  • ¼ teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 cups cottage cheese
  • ¼ cup parmesan cheese, grated
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon parsley
  • 8 uncooked lasagna noodles
  • 2 cups mozzarella, shredded

Brown meat, drain. Add tomatoes, tomato paste, spices and water. Simmer 15 minutes. Combine cottage cheese, parmesan cheese, egg and parsley. In an 11×7 pan put 1 ½ cups sauce, top with 4 noodles, ½ the cottage cheese mixture, half the mozzarella and 1 cup more of the sauce. Top with other 4 noodles, remaining cheese mixture, mozzarella and sauce. Cook at 350 degrees covered with foil (shiny side down) for 60-70 minutes. Let stand 10-15 minutes.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

Leave a Reply

