RSS Feed

Orange We Gonna Stop MS? – Creamsicle Fudge

Posted on

Guess what this week is? MS Awareness Week! Oh, you didn’t know there was an MS Awareness Week? Well, now you do. Next question. Do you know the MS Awareness color? Orange! Honestly, I really don’t like the color orange but I guess all the good colors were already taken. I don’t think I even have anything orange in my closet. So, rather than wear orange we’ll just make a whole week of orange flavored recipes, how’s that? Also, take some time to go check out the website for the National Multiple Sclerosis Society.

Do you remember the Creamsicles of your youth? It’s March and unless you are a die-hard (or you live somewhere warmer than Iowa) you probably aren’t craving a popsicle. That’s okay you can still have that fun flavor without getting the brain freeze! All in all, this is a simple recipe and I say go for it. I didn’t have marshmallow cream and I was too lazy to pick it up at the store so I melted a bag of marshmallows with some corn syrup. For the record, it works but it makes some pretty messy dishes. I found this sweet little recipe (and I mean sweet) while meandering around Pinterest.

Creamsicle Fudge

  • 6 ounces (1.5 sticks) butter
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1 package (12 oz) white chocolate chips
  • 1 jar (7 oz) marshmallow cream (I melted 1 bag of mini marshmallows with 1/5 cup corn syrup)
  • 1 tablespoon orange extract
  • orange (or a combination of red and yellow) food coloring

Prepare a 13×9 pan by lining it with aluminum foil and spraying the foil with nonstick cooking spray.

In a large heavy saucepan, combine the sugar, cream, and butter over medium heat. Continually stir the mixture until the butter melts and the sugar dissolves. Bring the mixture to a boil, and once it starts boiling, stir continuously for four minutes. After four minutes of boiling, remove the pan from the heat and immediately stir in the marshmallow cream and white chocolate chips. Stir until the white chocolate has melted and the fudge is completely smooth.

Working quickly, pour about a third of the white fudge into a bowl and set aside. To the remaining fudge, add the orange extract and orange food coloring, stirring until it is a smooth, even color. It is important to perform these steps quickly, because the fudge will start to set if you take too long, and the end result will not be smooth Pour the orange fudge into the prepared pan and spread it into an even layer. Drop the white fudge over the top by the spoonful, then drag a table knife or toothpick through the fudge to create orange-white swirls. You can spray your hands with nonstick cooking spray and gently press them into the top to smooth out the swirls, if desired.

Allow the fudge to set at room temperature for 2 hours, or in the refrigerator for 1 hour. To cut, pull the fudge out of the pan using the foil as handles. Use a large sharp knife to cut the fudge into small 1-inch squares.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

One response »

  1. I’ve loved anything Creamsicle since I was a kid and had my very first Push-Up from the ice cream truck. This looks delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

