RSS Feed

Stuffed Mushrooms

Posted on

Every time I turn around “they” have changed their minds about what is good for you and what is bad for you. For instance, the poor egg probably has whiplash from being a good guy, then a bad guy, and now a good guy again. Mushrooms are no different. Apparently, they are good for you now. Well, you know me. I can take anything healthy and make it more delicious and deadly. Like stuffing a perfectly healthy mushroom with cream cheese and bacon. Don’t get proud, you know it sounds amazing. And it is. I had some leftover bacon from breakfast earlier in the week and white button mushrooms were on sale at the grocery store. Hello, stuffed mushrooms!

This is a made-up-as-I-go recipe so feel free to tweak as you feel necessary. As with all cooking, the baking time is an approximation… trust your nose! Also, do NOT wash your mushrooms. I know that sounds strange and even a little dirty but wet mushrooms=soggy mushrooms. Just wipe them off with a damp towel.

Stuffed mushrooms

Ingredients:

  • Mushrooms (I buy the prepackaged white button mushrooms)
  • 8 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • bacon, cooked (set some aside when you make bacon for another purpose, I used about 3-4 slices)
  • 1 clove garlic
  • salt & pepper to taste

Wipe mushrooms with a damp towel. Carefully remove their stems. Process cream cheese, bacon and garlic in food processor. Add salt and pepper as desired. Fill each mushroom with a generous amount of cream cheese mixture. Bake until browned, about 10-15 minutes at 375 degrees.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

One response »

  1. These look delicious! Totally different from how I make my stuffed mushrooms (See my recipe here: http://thethingsithinkabout.com/2011/11/29/cheddar-walnut-stuffed-mushrooms/) but yours look so freaking good! I’ll be trying this for sure!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

