RSS Feed

Waffles

Posted on

I suppose it isn’t any big surprise to anyone who knows me or has read my blog more than once that I love breakfast. As our lives are a bit hectic I don’t always get to make it in the morning so I often make breakfast for dinner. Someone gave us a really cute waffle iron for a wedding gift and I use it a lot. I know, crazy, huh? Who actually uses appliances they received as gifts? Me!

I know this recipe sounds a little strange but it really does make the BEST waffles. The recipe comes from The Best of America’s Test Kitchen Recipes & Reviews from 2008. Always trust America’s Test Kitchen, they know what they’re doing. Drown these waffles in syrup or smother them in fruit and whipped cream. Whatever rocks your world. Don’t worry, you won’t notice the Rice Krispies in the finished product. They are completely absorbed in the batter. However, there is a fantastic “malty” flavor to the waffles and it gives them a little more oomph. Every waffle iron is different so trial and error is your best bet when it comes to determining how long or how hot you need to cook these. Happy waffling!

Waffles

Ingredients:

  • 1 ¼ cup flour
  • 1 cup Rice Krispies
  • ¾ cup cornstarch
  • ¼ cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ¾ teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 ½ cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • ½ cup vegetable oil

Preheat waffle iron. Stir dry ingredients together in large bowl. Whisk wet ingredients together in medium bowl. Pour wet ingredients over dry ingredients and stir until just mixed.. Pour 2/3 cup batter into waffle iron and cook until golden brown.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

Leave a Reply

