RSS Feed

Norwegian Gold Cupcakes

Posted on

I don’t think it would come as a great shock to anyone that I adore cupcakes. Cake of any sort gets my attention and little personal-sized ones are just so convenient! With a family as small as ours we rarely go through a whole cake anyway; making cupcakes allows me to send what’s left to work with my husband. I stress-BAKE, not stress-EAT.

I’m always trying new cupcake recipes (thank you Pinterest) and this one caught my attention because it breaks the cardinal rule of baking: NEVER over-beat anything once the flour is added. It releases the gluten and makes your cakes tough and rubbery, incase you were wondering. But this recipe does just that. And I’m always curious when rules get broken. So, I made a date with my mixer and this recipe. Plus, I needed a bribe for my amazing worker bees who were cleaning the church on Saturday. God Bless the Worker Bee!

Note: the frosting recipe makes a whole lot more than you will need. I threw a tablespoon of Chambord into the mix, chilled, and rolled some truffles. Two for one deal!

Norwegian Gold Cake

Makes one cake or about 20 cupcakes-

Preheat the oven to 325° F for cake or 375° F for cupcakes. Grease the bottom of a 10-inch tube or bundt pan, or line two cupcake pans with paper liners. Have all ingredients at room temperature.

Beat together for five minutes:

  • 1 2/3 cups sifted all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup butter

Then add:

  • 5 eggs, one at a time, beating after each addition

Then add:

  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 1/2 t. baking powder
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 
1/4 t. vanilla extract
  • 
1/4 t. almond extract

Beat for two minutes.

For a cake, bake for about one hour, checking after fifty minutes. For cupcakes, bake for 20-25 minutes.

Sour Cream Ganache Frosting

Melt:

  • 10 ounces semi-sweet chocolate

Then stir in:

  • 1 cup sour cream
  • A pinch of salt

Spread onto completely cooled cake. I just dipped the cupcakes into the frosting.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

4 responses »

  1. These look amazing! I also love to make cupcakes, I have made a devil’s food cupcake with chocolate ganache frosting and white chocolate shavings, yum! And many more! Check them out on my blog: http://www.achefinthyme.wordpress.com

    Reply
  2. Thank you!!!

    Reply
  3. I will definitely try, thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  4. After all these years my father trying to get me to eat lutefisk I found the Norwegian cupcake recipe he’s been holdin out my last 58 years

    Reply

Leave a Reply

