RSS Feed

Key Lime Pie

Posted on

The weather has been pretty drab up here in the Great White North (i.e. Iowa). I really don’t mind the cold but I hate the grey. My sister called me to tell me about this recipe because she knows I adore key lime pie. And with all the grey weather what could possibly make me feel better than a summer dessert like this one?

One look at the recipe should tell you how simple and quick it is. You can whip this together on a weeknight or at the last minute. I know the name says “Key lime” but I’m cheap and I just keep whatever off-brand lime juice I can find in my fridge so that’s what I used. But if you are feeling fancy buy some key limes (you’ll probably need around 20 or so limes because key limes are so small) and juice them yourself.

Key Lime Pie

Ingredients

  •             1 (9 inch) prepared graham cracker crust
  •             3 cups (2 cans) sweetened condensed milk
  •             1/2 cup sour cream
  •             3/4 cup key lime juice
  •             1 tablespoon grated lime zest (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a medium bowl, combine condensed milk, sour cream, lime juice, and lime rind. Mix well and pour into graham cracker crust. Bake in preheated oven for 5 to 8 minutes, until tiny pinhole bubbles burst on the surface of pie. Don’t wait for the pie to brown. Chill pie thoroughly before serving.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

4 responses »

  1. Meg, I’m a fan of Key Lime Pie also so I’ll try your recipe. I really like your site and look every time!

    Joyce

    Reply
  2. Sounds delicious and simple, which is my favorite combination! I’m a key lime addict. Key lime cupcakes are my favorite way to use that flavor so far!

    Reply
  3. This key lime pie looks delicious!

    Reply
  4. I am making this for Rotary trivia night tonight!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

