RSS Feed

Balsamic Glazed Filet Mignon

Posted on

I’m a pretty serious carnivore. So much so that my dad sends rib eye bundles to me for special occasions like Valentine’s Day. That’s right folks, forget the flowers, I’ll take meat any day. I’m just that kinda girl. He sends them to me from this amazing meat locker in Palmyra, Missouri called The Country Butcher Shop. Yup, you can ship steaks. It’s a thing.

So, are you ready for me to turn your world upside down? I made these steaks over the weekend and they were incredible! Of course, you can’t do much to mess up filet mignons, I mean come on, it is beef tenderloin! I used 8 ounce filets and I like my meat rare. Like, still mooing rare. If you aren’t into cows that still have bells on them you will need to cook your steaks a little longer. Also, after my steaks were done, I threw another ¼ cup of vinegar and ¼ cup wine in and deglazed the pan to make a pan sauce. I’d recommend doing that if you want a little extra sauce for your steak. I served my steak with oven-roasted potatoes but mashed potatoes would be amazing, too.

Balsamic Glazed Filet Mignon

Ingredients

  •             2  filet mignon steaks
  •             black pepper to taste
  •             salt to taste
  •             1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  •             1/4 cup dry red wine

Sprinkle freshly ground pepper over both sides of each steak, and sprinkle with salt to taste. Heat a nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Place steaks in hot pan, and cook for 1 minute on each side, or until browned. Reduce heat to medium-low, and add balsamic vinegar and red wine. Cook for 6 minutes on each side, basting with sauce when you turn the meat over. Remove steaks from pan and let rest before serving. Spoon glaze over steaks.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

One response »

  1. I looked at this on my iPad and LOVED how I had to swipe the picture! Would you be willing to share how to do that?

    Also I will be trying this my husband is obsessed with red meat and I’m almost right there with him!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

