RSS Feed

Blueberry Muffins

Posted on

I’m usually so busy during the week that I barely have time to grab breakfast at all let alone make something that actually tastes good. That’s one of the reasons I love lazy Saturday mornings, I get to pitter around the kitchen and bake. This Saturday I broke out my tried and true blueberry muffin recipe. We had a friend from our college days in town for the weekend and I figured I’d better feed her something before dragging her off for a day at the mall… with a baby…and a man. She deserved something, wouldn’t you agree?

You can’t go wrong with this recipe, I promise. Adding sour cream makes just about everything better, kinda like bacon or chocolate. If you really want to make these about as amazing as humanly possible put a crumb topping on the muffins. An easy crumb topping would be: 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 cup flour, 6 tablespoons cold butter cut into pieces, two teaspoons cinnamon.

Blueberry Muffins

Ingredients:

  •             4 eggs
  •             2 cups white sugar
  •             1 cup vegetable oil
  •             1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  •             4 cups all-purpose flour
  •             1 teaspoon salt
  •             1 teaspoon baking soda
  •             2 cups sour cream
  •             2 cups blueberries

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Prepare 24 muffin cups.

In large bowl beat eggs, gradually add sugar while beating. Continue beating while slowly pouring in oil. Stir in vanilla. In a separate bowl, stir together flour, salt and baking soda.

Stir dry ingredients into egg mixture alternately with sour cream. Gently fold in blueberries. Scoop batter into prepared muffin cups. Bake in preheated oven for 20 minutes.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

One response »

  1. These are my favorite blueberry muffins, but you forgot to mention that they taste even more amazing on day 2. I love what you are going and can’t wait to see you guys again. Keep up the great work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

