RSS Feed

Classic Chocolate Chip Cookies

Posted on

For Valentine’s Day I asked my husband what dessert he would like for me to make for him. Cause I’m sweet like that. He immediately said chocolate chip cookies. It is by far his favorite recipe and he likes to slip some of the dough before I bake them. His only request? Use only part of the bag. Usually, I fight this request but it was his Valentine’s Day cookies so I gave in this time. Oftentimes I’ll use half the chips, make half the cookies, and then use the rest of the chips in the leftover dough. I don’t believe there could possibly be such a thing as “too many chocolate chips.” You can’t agree on everything.

I don’t deviate too far from the original recipe that is on the back of the bag. I learned a long time ago that whatever recipe companies use to sell their product is usually pretty darn good and hey, I ain’t fancy. However, I’ve made a few tweaks. Firstly, I use half butter and half shortening. This gives you the flavor of butter but the look of shortening. The state of the butter when you make your cookies really does matter. Melted butter will give you chewy cookies that will be thin. Chilled/solid butter will make your cookies crispier. I usaully just pull my butter from the fridge.

If you have the time, chill the dough. This gives the dough time for all the flavors to come together. Also, chilling allows the dough to get to a consistency to easily roll it into balls before baking and this makes your cookies a little more attractive. I know, that doesn’t really matter, but it’s nice.

Rather than sticking with the time directed in the recipe, I use my nose. I’m half bloodhound; I ALWAYS know if you’ve been smoking or drinking (a skill I look forward to possessing when my daughter turns 16). When the cookies start to really smell keep an eye on them and take them out as soon as they start to get any color at all. Remember, they will continue to bake after they are removed from the oven so you don’t want them entirely done when you pull them out of the oven.

Classic Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • ½  cup (1 stick) butter
  • ½ cup shortening
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups (12-oz. pkg.) chocolate chips (1 cup if you are making them for my husband)

Combine flour, baking soda and salt in small bowl. Beat butter, shortening, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla in large mixer bowl until creamy, a few minutes. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in morsels. Chill dough.

Drop by rounded tablespoon onto baking sheets (I line mine with parchment paper). Bake at 375 degrees for 8 to 11 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

2 responses »

  1. My favorite cookie! Love your post and your photo is delicious. Stop by and say hi 🙂

    Reply
  2. Hey! I tagged you in a post of mine…

    http://everydayinstilettos.wordpress.com/2012/02/21/11-random-things/

    I enjoy reading your blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

