RSS Feed

Salsa

Posted on

When we lived in Chicago, my husband and I would walk to Chili’s all the time. In fact, a whole group of us in seminary would go there to get their endless chips and salsa and their margaritas. A whole lot of life’s problems were solved (or at least explored) over those chips and margaritas. Not to mention some of the more complicated theological theories. I miss those trips like crazy!

Chili’s has very distinct salsa to which no jar could possibly compare. This salsa recipe is the closest I have found. It has a very fresh flavor. A couple things: rinse your onions in cold water before using them in this salsa so they won’t be so overpowering. Also, you could use more or fewer jalapenos based on your preference. Mix up a batch, a pitcher of margaritas, gather a few friends and explore/solve the world’s issues!

Salsa

1 can (28 oz) whole tomatoes, drained
3 jalapenos (remove the seeds)
1/4 c. onion, cut into quarters
1 tsp. garlic powder
½ tsp. salt
1 tsp. cumin
1/2 tsp. sugar
1 tsp. lime juice

Place all of the ingredients together into a food processor or blender and puree until smooth. Serve with tortilla chips.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

Leave a Reply

