RSS Feed

Cinnamon Rolls

Posted on

One of the not-so-thrilling things that I get to do as priest in a small parish is open the building for people who want to use the space. With this awe-inspiring chore in store, I dragged myself out of bed at 6am on Saturday to unlock the building. However, there is always a silver lining, correct? The silver lining to being awake at 6am on your day off? You have time to make cinnamon rolls! These cinnamon rolls are amazing! The only cinnamon roll that I’ve ever had that comes remotely close are those ridiculously overpriced Cinnabons. And this recipe is easy. But because they are a yeast-dough they take a little time so I don’t make them all that often.  But on this particular day I had plenty of time. And I set some time aside in the afternoon for a nap.

You could make these during the day or the night ahead and they would still be incredible but we all know that I’m a bit of a sensory nut and I love the way they smell while they’re baking. It works to wake my husband up every time!

Cinnamon Rolls

Ingredients:

  •             1 cup warm milk
  •             2 eggs, room temperature
  •             1/3 cup butter, melted
  •             4 1/2 cups bread flour
  •             1 teaspoon salt
  •             1/2 cup white sugar
  •             2 1/2 teaspoons bread machine yeast
  •             1 cup brown sugar, packed
  •             2 1/2 tablespoons ground cinnamon
  •             1/3 cup butter, softened
  •             3 ounces cream cheese, softened
  •             1/4 cup butter, softened
  •             1 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  •             1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  •             1/8 teaspoon salt

Place milk, eggs, butter, flour, salt, sugar, and yeast in the pan of the bread machine in the order recommended by the manufacturer. Select dough cycle; press Start.

After the dough has doubled in size turn it out onto a lightly floured surface, cover and let rest for 10 minutes. In a small bowl, combine brown sugar and cinnamon.

Roll dough into a 16×21 inch rectangle. Spread dough with 1/3 cup butter and sprinkle evenly with sugar/cinnamon mixture. Roll up dough and cut into 12 rolls. Place rolls in a lightly greased 9×13 inch baking pan. Cover and let rise until nearly doubled, about 30 minutes. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Bake rolls in preheated oven until golden brown, about 15 minutes. While rolls are baking, beat together cream cheese, 1/4 cup butter, confectioners’ sugar, vanilla extract and salt. Spread frosting on warm rolls before serving.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

2 responses »

  1. Mmmmmm! Love these things! And so does everyone in my office!

    Reply
  2. Ohhhhhhh! That looks SOOOOO good!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

