RSS Feed

Chocolate Muffins

Posted on

It isn’t a state secret that I love to cook with buttermilk. It is the secret weapon of great baking recipes. However, I don’t go through it very quickly and I had a carton getting more and more buttermilky as its expiration date approached. I trolled through my recipes deciding what to do with it. And then I stumbled upon this little gem, chocolate muffins. These are a double-whammy of chocolate, using both cocoa and chocolate chips. As far as a breakfast item? Probably not as healthy as steel-cut oats but hey, whatcha gonna do? I needed to dispose of the buttermilk and we’ve discussed many a time that I’m cheap and I hate to waste things.

So, what’s the difference between a cupcake and a muffin, you ask? Well, muffins are quick breads which means you really shouldn’t have to breakout your mixer. Cupcakes cream the butter or shortening whereas quick breads skip that step. Of course, if you are feeling particularly decadent go ahead and treat these like cupcakes and frost them but they don’t really need it.

Chocolate  Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 1/4 cups light brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Prepare muffin tins.

In a large measuring cup or bowl whisk together the melted butter, eggs, buttermilk, and vanilla extract.

In another large bowl whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Stir in the chocolate chips. Fold the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir only until the ingredients are combined. Do not over mix the batter.

Evenly fill the muffin cups with the batter. Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean (with crumbs), about 20 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool for about 5 minutes before removing from pan.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

Leave a Reply

