RSS Feed

One Dish Spaghetti

Posted on

My husband loves spaghetti. It is on the menu practically every week. Not only does it make a good/easy dinner but it is one of the few things he is willing to take to work for lunch the next day. If I’m making spaghetti on the weekend or when I have a little more time I make it on the stove the old-fashioned way with homemade meat balls. I promise, I’ll share that recipe with you soon. But, on a weeknight, frankly I’m not going to that much work. This recipe is made in the microwave. Now, don’t get all judgey. It really is good. And it is one dish. Did you hear that? ONE dish. And it doesn’t use fake spaghetti sauce, the recipe makes its own. Give it a try; just don’t tell anyone you made it in the microwave. I promise they’ll never know if you don’t tell them.

One Dish Spaghetti

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 teaspoon parsley flakes
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon pepper
  • ½ teaspoon oregano
  • 1 teaspoon basil
  • 1 (15 ounce) can tomato sauce
  • 1 ½ cups water
  • ¼ pound uncooked spaghetti

Combine butter, onion, and garlic in a 2 quart casserole dish. Microwave 2 to 3 minutes on high, or until onion is transparent.

Crumble beef into casserole dish. Microwave 3 minutes 30 seconds to 4 minutes 30 seconds, or until no longer pink.

Add parsley flakes, salt, pepper, oregano, and basil. Stir in tomato sauce and water. Microwave 4 minutes. Break spaghetti in half and stir into sauce. Cover. Microwave 10-12 minutes or until spaghetti in tender, stirring twice. Let stand 5-10 minutes. Serve with grated parmesan cheese.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

Leave a Reply

