RSS Feed

Guinness Cupcakes

Posted on

I mentioned in my previous post that I had a little time during my snow day to do some baking. I also mentioned that I was making Guinness Beef Stew. In my efforts to turn my snow shrouded home into a Scottish pub, I made a batch of Guinness Cupcakes to go with my stew.

These cupcakes have a very dark and deep flavor so I paired them with a vanilla frosting. If you don’t love deep, dark chocolate this recipe may not be for you. Guinness is like espresso and really brings out the flavors in chocolate. Also, if you have any good frosting recipes please let me know! I’m always disappointed in my frosting recipes. Buttercreams are always too grainy and greasy and not creamy enough. I’m looking for a recipe where the cream really shines and the sugar isn’t so front and center. Ignore the photo of the cupcakes. Cake decorating is not one of my gifts. Maybe in my copious amounts of spare time I’ll attend a class.

Guinness Cupcakes

Ingredients
:

  • 1 (12-ounce) bottle Guinness Stout
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
  • 3 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

Preheat the oven to 350°F.

In a large mixing bowl, combine the Guinness, buttermilk, vegetable oil, and vanilla. Beat in the eggs, one at a time. Mix in the sour cream.

In another bowl, whisk together the cocoa, sugar, flour, and baking soda. Gradually mix the dry ingredients into the wet Guinness mixture.

Prepare 24 muffin tins and divide the batter among the muffin tins.
 Bake 25 minutes, until risen and set in the middle but still soft and tender. Cool before turning out of the tins and frosting.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

Leave a Reply

