RSS Feed

C’est tres fantastique

Posted on

Don’t judge the title… I made my French teacher weep in high school and my college professor just gave up.

Mmmmm… French Toast. So delicious and a great way to get rid of the loaf of French bread hardening on my counter. Also, I had a hankering for baked French Toast. Tonight’s dinner? Breakfast for dinner!

This recipe calls for an 8-hour-rest-period for your French Toast but I was making it for dinner and I didn’t decide that until I got home from church/vestry meeting so it was closer to a 3-hour-rest-period. Whatevs. As long as the bread gets a chance to relax and soak-up the egg-milk mixture we’re good.

I don’t make any claims that this recipe makes for a heart or blood sugar healthy dinner. But pair it with bacon and oh my goodness it makes a psyche healthy meal.

Baked French Toast

  •          1 loaf French bread, cut in 1 inch slices (I didn’t have/use a whole loaf)
  •          6 eggs
  •          2 cups milk (throw some cream in there and live a little)
  •          2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  •       ¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon
  •        ¼ teaspoon nutmeg
  •          ¾ cup butter
  •          1 1/3 cups brown sugar
  •          3 tablespoons light corn syrup

Prepare a 9×13 baking dish. Arrange the slices of bread in the bottom. In a large bowl, beat together eggs, milk, vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg. Pour over bread slices, cover, and refrigerate 8 hours or overnight.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Flip bread in egg mixture. In a small saucepan, combine butter, brown sugar and corn syrup; heat until bubbling. Pour over bread and egg mixture.

Bake in preheated oven, uncovered, for 40 minutes. Flip bread halfway through baking.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

Leave a Reply

