RSS Feed

Brownie Bake-off

Posted on

I received a special request for my blog! Which makes me feel so good about myself because it means someone is actually reading it. Okay, so it’s my sister but let’s not split hairs, shall we? She requested that I post a couple of my go-to brownie recipes. These aren’t those fancy brownie recipes that have things like cookie dough or mint in them. They are just plain, go-to, chocolate-addict crack recipes.

The first recipe is one that has served me well. Confession: I made these brownies every evening while I was taking the GOEs. Folks, that’s a week-long test during which you take two tests a day. It’s okay, you get Thursday off and Friday is only half a day. Throw into the mix that I was finishing my second CPE course (chaplain in a hospital) and you have one stressed-out Meg. But the brownie batter from this recipe got me through. My motto in life: there’s NOTHING that prayer and chocolate can’t handle. No really, there’s a sign in my office.

Disgustingly Rich Brownies

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups sugar, I use half white and half brown
  • 1 ¼ cup flour
  • ¾ cup cocoa
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup butter, melted
  • ¼ teaspoon salt

Prepare an 8 or 9 in. baking pan. I line mine with aluminum foil and then spray the foil. It makes it much easier to remove your brownies from the pan.

Stir cocoa and sugar together. Stir in melted butter. Add eggs and vanilla. Stir in flour and salt until smooth.

Pour in pan and bake 40-50 minutes at 350 degrees.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

3 responses »

  1. Meg, I love reading your recipes. So far I’ve just made the cobbler, using peaches I froze last summer. I copied the brownie recipe just now and will make it soon.

    Reply
  2. I’ve had these brownies when you made them and they are highly recommended. You also made a different recipe this fall in a larger pan (more brownies!) and they were good, too.

    Now a real challenge. How about a non- fussy, herby roasted vegetables recipe. I see recipes and lose/forget them. Any and all veggies are acceptable to us.

    Reply
  3. I’m anxiously awaiting for you to start posting again! Just fyi . . .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

