RSS Feed

Cheesecake

Posted on

I love cheesecake. Also, I’m a purist. I don’t like strange flavors and I don’t like weird toppings. Just give me a whole, monster, 5-pound cheesecake that is dense as clay and I’m happy. However, baking a really good cheesecake can be finicky. There are things like water baths and checking to see if it is done, and the worst is when the cream cheese gets clumpy and gross and ruins your whole cake. Bleh. If any of these concerns sound familiar to you, get ready, cause I have a treat for you. This cheesecake is ridiculously easy. You just throw the filling into a blender and boom you have yourself a silky, smooth cheesecake. This recipe has a different crust than your usual graham cracker crust. Personally, I really like it but if you want to go with the original I don’t see any reason why you couldn’t.

Cheesecake

Ingredients:

Crust:

  • 1 ½ cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ¼ cup sugar
  • 1 stick butter, melted
  • 1 egg, slightly beaten

Cheesecake:

  • 16 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 1 tablespoon flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 ¼ cup milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 10″ springform pan with PAM. WRAP the bottom and up the sides of the pan with a square of aluminum foil, to protect against any leaks. Make sure your springform pan is properly aligned and that it tightly seals when you snap the ring shut!

For crust: Sift together flour, baking powder and sugar. Mix together with butter and egg. Press the mixture along the bottom and slightly up the sides of the prepared pan.

For cheesecake: Place the cream cheese, flour, 2 eggs, sugar and milk into a blender and process on high for 3 minutes.  Pour into the prepared crust.

Bake for 55 – 60 minutes (mine took at least 15 minute longer because I was using a 9” springform). Cool and remove from springform.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

Leave a Reply

