RSS Feed

Shepherd’s Pie

Posted on

Shepherd’s Pie makes me think of Great Britain and leaves me pining for Scotland. Technically, Shepherd’s Pie is made with lamb but my husband isn’t into lamb and I don’t really like the way my house smells after I’ve cooked with it. Stale sheep isn’t exactly aromatic. I suppose I could call this Cottage Pie but that isn’t nearly as fun nor does it invoke images of my border collies doing actual work. Work that does not involve herding the cat or licking peanut butter out of Kongs.

Believe it or not, this recipe really doesn’t take that long. It is on my weeknight rotation if that says anything at all. You can have this on the table (easily) within 30 minutes. It’s all about multitasking, friends.

Shepherd’s Pie

Ingredients:

Mashed Potatoes:

  • 2 pounds potatoes, chopped
  • ¼ cup sour cream
  • 2 tablespoons cream cheese
  • cream, milk, or chicken broth

Filling:

  • 1 pound ground beef/lamb
  • 1 carrot or a handful of baby carrots, chopped
  • half an onion, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1 cup beef broth
  • salt & pepper
  • 2 teaspoons Worcestershire, a couple shakes
  • ½ cup frozen peas

Boil potatoes in salted water until tender, about 12 minutes. Drain potatoes and mash them with sour cream and cream cheese. If needed, add cream.

While potatoes boil, brown meat in a skillet. Add chopped carrots and onion to meat. Cook 5 minutes. Place meat mixture in a bowl and set aside. Melt butter in skillet, add flour. Whisk about 2 minutes. Add broth and Worcestershire. Season with salt and pepper. Thicken gravy. Add meat mixture to gravy. Stir in peas.

Preheat broiler. Pour meat into a casserole dish. Spoon potatoes over meat evenly, seal the edges. Broil until browned.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

Leave a Reply

