RSS Feed

Hot Fudge Sauce

Posted on

I have a confession. After I put the baby to bed for the evening I sneak into the kitchen to make the world’s best mocha. My espresso machine and I have a love that can only be threatened by my relationship with my mixer. After the baby, husband, and pets, I’m not sure which appliance I’d grab first in case of a fire. Go ahead, you can judge away. Honestly, you should.

As we all know, food is only as good as the ingredients used to make it. Mochas are no different. So, how do you make the world’s best mocha? With the world’s best hot fudge sauce. Now, while I use the majority of this to make mochas its uses are infinite. I use it to make hot chocolate, milk shakes/malts, and of course to top hot fudge sundaes. Be creative. And just know, you WILL lick the spoon so make enough to compensate for that loss.

Fudge Sauce

Ingredients:

  • ¼ cup cocoa
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • ½ cup light corn syrup
  • ½ cup milk
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons vanilla

Combine dry ingredients in sauce pan. Add syrup and milk, blend well. Boil 5 minutes. Remove from heat. Stir in butter and vanilla. Cool without stirring until pan feels warm to hand.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

4 responses »

  1. Is this the recipe from growing up? Just curious…fond memories of this stuff. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Top a meringue or brownie with ice cream and this fudge sauce. Instant gourmet without the fuss.

    Reply
  3. Or just eat it off of the spoon when no one is looking!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

