RSS Feed

Baked Mac & Cheese

Posted on

There is no comfort food that can compare to mac & cheese. I know, I know, everyone has their own recipe and it is always the best. I, too, have my own recipe and according to my (very) humble opinion it is the best. All you gourmet mac & cheese snobs may turn up your noses at the addition of Velveeta to this recipe but, kids, if you want creamy mac & cheese you HAVE to use Velveeta. Don’t worry there’s plenty of real cheese in the mix.

Frankly, I don’t know why anyone makes the “blue box” when the real stuff is so easy and soooooo much better but what do I know? Leave the “blue box” stuff in your basement storage room in case of apocalypse and make the real stuff.

Mac & Cheese

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • half an onion, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups milk
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 2 cups elbow macaroni
  • 2 cups shredded sharp Cheddar cheese
  • 1 (8 ounce) package processed American cheese (I use a bag of shredded Velveeta)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Melt butter in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Saute onion for 2 minutes. Stir in flour and cook 1 minute, stirring constantly. Stir in milk, salt and pepper; cook, stirring frequently, until mixture boils and thickens.

Meanwhile, bring a pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add macaroni and cook for 8 to 10 minutes or until al dente; drain.

To the milk mixture add the cheddar and Velveeta cheeses; stir until cheese melts. Combine macaroni and cheese sauce in a 2 quart baking dish; mix well. Bake in preheated oven for 30 minutes, or until hot and bubbly.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

Leave a Reply

