RSS Feed

Swiss Steak

Posted on

Happy Friday! Fridays are (technically) a day off for me. Which translates into I try not to go to the office and I work from home. But it also means I have time to try new recipes or at least spend a little extra time cooking than I normally would on a week night. I love this recipe because you throw everything into a dish and stuff it in the oven for an hour. During that time you can do other things like play with a baby, get caught-up on emails, do the dishes, or simply enjoy the heavenly smells that emanate from your oven perfuming your home. Heck, with an hour you can do all of those! And with little one-dish wonders such as these you don’t have to worry about sides! I just served up a side salad and some bread.

I don’t know why this recipe is called Swiss Steak. It doesn’t seem very Swiss and calling it steak is extremely generous. But then I’m a meat snob.

Swiss Steak

Ingredients:

  •  I used 3 of those little minute steaks
  •  ¼ cup flour
  • salt & pepper
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  •  1 (14.5 ounce) can stewed tomatoes
  • 1 carrot, chopped
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped
  • half an onion, chopped
  • half a green pepper, chopped
  •  a few shakes Worcestershire sauce

Directions

Place flour, salt, and pepper in a Ziploc bag. Place meat into bag and coat entirely. In a skillet, brown meat in oil. Transfer meat to a 2-qt. baking dish; set aside.

To pan drippings, add tomatoes, carrot, celery, onion, green pepper, Worcestershire sauce and a pinch of flour. Cook over medium heat and stir for 2 minutes. Pour over meat. Cover and bake at 350 for an hour or until the meat is tender.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

Leave a Reply

