RSS Feed

Bacon, Bacon, Bacon! And muffins.

Posted on

Tonight’s dinner was breakfast for dinner. Hey, I’m fancy like that. Besides, bacon is good anytime, anywhere.

Bacon is a big point of contention in our house. I like to bake it and  my husband is more of a traditional man and thinks it should be fried in a pan. Trust me, bake your bacon. You just throw some foil down on a jellyroll pan (cookie sheet with sides) and lay your bacon out. Toss it in a cold oven and set the oven for 400. Wait about 17 minutes or until it is the perfect bacon for you. And here’s the best part, leave the pan out until the fat solidifies (nasty, I know) and then scrunch up the foil and throw it away! But anywho, I am a cooperative wife and he fried his bacon.

What goes with bacon better than scrambled eggs and muffins? Mmmmmm… muffins. I tried this new recipe for poppy-seed muffins. I highly recommend it. They’re delicious and as long as you don’t have a drug test, you’re good. Actually, there aren’t that many poppy-seeds in them but I have no idea how many it takes for a positive drug test. My experience with drug tests is limited. Somehow, clergy don’t get asked to take too many of them. I dunno why.

Sour Cream Poppy-seed Streusel Muffins

Muffins

  • 2 c. all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 c. sugar
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 c. buttermilk
  • 1/4 c. butter, melted
  • 1 Tbsp. grated lemon rind
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. almond extract
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 8-oz. container sour cream 

Streusel

  • 1/4 c. sugar
  • 1/4 c. flour
  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • 2 tsp. poppy seeds

Preheat oven to 375. Prepare streusel by combining streusel ingredients in a small bowl and set aside.

To prepare muffins, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl, stirring with a whisk. Make a well in the center of the mixture. Combine buttermilk and remaining muffin ingredients in a small bowl and add to flour mixture, stirring until just moist. Spoon batter into 12 muffin cups or 24-36 mini muffin cups, either lined or sprayed. Sprinkle evenly with streusel mixture.

Bake at 375 for 18 minutes or until golden brown.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

Leave a Reply

