RSS Feed

“You’re a bad banana with a greasy, black peel.” -How The Grinch Stole Christmas

Posted on

I’m one of those strange people who refuses to eat bananas as soon as they get so much as a shadow past greenish-yellow. But, being the cheap, resourceful person that I am I set those bananas aside and wait for them to get a charming shade of brownish-black… delicious. And then we have the perfect ingredient for Banana Bread… a family favorite in my house.

Here’s the recipe:

1 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 egg
3-4 mashed bananas
3/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup cooking oil
1 teaspoon finely shredded lemon peel

Grease a loaf pan. Heat oven to 350. Mix dry ingredients in bowl. Make a well in dry ingredients and set the bowl aside.

Mix egg, bananas, sugar, oil, and lemon peel. Add egg mixture to dry ingredients and stir just till moistened. This is not the time to work those arm muscles. Just stir until the flour disappears.

Spoon batter into prepared loaf pan and bake for 50-55 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool about 10 minutes in pan and the remove from pan to cool on rack.

If simple banana bread is a bit too… well, simple you can dress it up a bit. Throw a few peaches on your sliced bread and then drizzle some warm cream on top. I know, I know but trust me, this is good. I used frozen peaches because it is December in Iowa and let’s be honest, fresh peaches aren’t fresh. You could also use canned peaches and plain milk if you are trying to be a bit healthier. I suppose.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

Leave a Reply

