RSS Feed

Merry Christmas

Posted on

Merry Christmas! For clergy-folk the holiday season doesn’t really begin until Christmas services end. This year was crazier than usual with Christmas falling on Sunday and a big funeral on Friday. Yes, that makes three services and three sermons in three days. Needless to say I’m more than a little behind on my holiday baking *sigh*. So it was with great excitement that I scurried to the kitchen after returning home from Christmas morning service and opening presents with the hubs and the babe. While they napped and played with new presents I closeted myself with the scent of chocolate and my mixer!

So, what was the menu for Christmas dinner? This year we celebrated Christmas with all the family the two weekends before Christmas so it was just our little family for Christmas dinner. That meant no large, ridiculous dishes that I would normally be drawn to. Let’s be honest, I can’t cook for fewer than four. This year I went with roast duck, roast potatoes, ginger carrots, yeast rolls, and the mandatory buche de noel. Hey, Christmas is no time for healthy. Butter and cream, folks. I’m like Paula Deen without the accent or hair.

Normally I would decorate the buche de Noel with meringue mushrooms and chocolate truffles but they just didn’t get made this year. Ah, well maybe next year. Click here for the recipe.

 

I know the title of my blog is “breaking bread with Meg” but in reality I’m pretty lazy when it comes to baking bread. I have a deep love and appreciation for my bread-maker, it makes my life and marriage much easier. No matter what I cook if I have a pan of these rolls around my very picky husband is happy. Here’s the recipe.

Okay, so the picture isn’t the most flattering shot of a spud but trust me, these are delicious. And they’re easy. Win, win. We can forgive them for not being photogenic. Here’s the recipe. The recipe calls for vegetable oil but I’m an olive oil girl myself. I also lined my baking sheet with parchment paper because these potatoes tend to stick.

I have a confession, I LOVE dark meat. And duck rocks my world. How, you ask, does one convince a picky eater husband to eat duck? Well, kids, it is just a chicken that swims. I stuffed my duck with clementines because I had them sitting around but any citrus would work. I also dusted and doused it (generously) with poultry seasoning, garlic, pepper, salt, and lemon juice. Trust me, you can’t go wrong with a duck. Just remember, they only feed about two people per bird. Here’s the basic recipe.

About Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

One response »

  1. Thanks for the flourless bouche de noel. I’m giving up gluten in hopes it helps my sinusitis, so this is the perfect dessert for when my sister and her partner come for dinner.

    Glad to hear all is well!

    Love, Ellen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

