Swiss Steak

New Year’s Resolution: start blogging again. Life has been pretty crazy with a new job (that is now 2 years in), new house, and new baby but hopefully I can get back to the blog… fingers crossed, y’all!

So, first recipe back? How about Swiss Steak? This is a regular meal around our house. It’s easy to throw together on a week night and allows me to sneak lots of veggies into the family meal without people noticing. I’ve tried it baked and in the crock pot but stove top is really the best way to make Swiss Steak.

IMG_1616

Swiss Steak

4 cube steaks aka minute steaks

1 onion, chopped

1 green pepper, chopped

2 stalks celery, sliced

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 can tomato sauce

1 can diced tomatoes

Olive oil

Salt & pepper

2 tsp. dried basil

1 tsp. dried oregano 

Heat olive oil in pot (I like my Dutch oven but use what you have). Season meat and sear for 3 minutes a side. Remove steaks from pan. Brown garlic and onions in pan, cook until transparent (about 3 minutes). Add green peppers and celery and cook about 2 minutes. Add meat, tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, basil and oregano. Bring to a simmer and cook about 20 minutes.

 

 

Published by Meg

I stress-bake, a lot. When I'm not doing that I'm an Episcopal priest, wife, and mom. Have a recipe that just might lower my blood pressure or at least make my house smell good? I'd love to try it!

Leave a comment